The long-standing debate regarding whether to decriminalize adult sex work, solicitation, and prostitution is ongoing, but these are still crimes in Colorado:
Solicitation (C.R.S 18-2-301): offering payment for sex.
Prostitution (C.R.S. 18-7-201): asking for money in exchange for sex.
Both are Class 3 misdemeanors, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $750 in fines.
You don’t necessarily have to engage in sexual contact in exchange for money to be charged with solicitation or prostitution. You can simply enter a location with intent to engage in sexual contact or arrange a meeting for the purpose of engaging in sexual contact. Patronizing a prostitute (C.R.S. 18-7-205) is also a crime in Colorado.
If you have been charged with a solicitation or prostitution offense, call (720) 445-9779, ext. 1, or email us at [email protected].