Experienced Cheyenne DUI and DWAI Defense Attorney
You can face a charge for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) head-on with our team at Peak Legal Services. A Cheyenne DUI lawyer can take steps to help even if you took a blood or breath test during your arrest.
You can reach out to us for assistance with your criminal defense needs. Find out more about your options by calling (307) 274-4750.
We Understand DUI Charges in Cheyenne
Wyoming uses one primary charge to prosecute drivers accused of operating a vehicle after drinking alcohol. DUI charges can apply if a driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level above 0.08%. In some states, DUI and DWAI mean the same thing. However, Wyoming does not use DWAI charges.
Instead, the state primarily sticks to DUI charges. In some situations, the state uses the term DWI (driving while intoxicated) interchangeably with DUI. Our team takes pride in representing clients facing both DUI and DWI charges and takes all DUI allegations seriously in Cheyenne, Wyoming.
Write Down What Happened at Your DUI Arrest
Often, a DUI defense in Cheyenne comes down to the details a driver remembers. For this reason, many law offices recommend that you write down everything you remember after the police release you. Writing down what happened can help you remember:
- How long you waited before the police administered a BAC test
- The steps the police officer took while administering the test
- If you got a choice between a breath and blood test
Drivers may choose between a breath and blood test if they are pulled over for a DUI. The state of Wyoming uses the Intoxilyzer system for breath tests. These tests return immediate results. Blood tests, on the other hand, may take time to deliver a result regarding your BAC.
You can work with a Cheyenne DUI lawyer regardless of the results of your BAC test.
What Happens if Drivers Fail a BAC Test in Cheyenne
Drivers who fail a BAC test generally receive an Express Consent Affidavit. You may also receive this document if you refuse to submit to a BAC test at a DUI stop. After receiving the document, you may request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
You have 20 days to request your Contested Case Hearing with the DMV. Failure to request your hearing can lead to the automatic suspension of your driving privileges after 30 days. A criminal defense lawyer can help you plan for your DMV hearing.
In some cases, a lawyer can protect your driving privileges after a DUI arrest. Reach out to a member of our team to find out more about your options in this situation.
Outcomes of a Cheyenne DUI or DWI Conviction
The court system in Cheyenne treats DUIs as criminal acts. A conviction can lead to several serious legal repercussions, including fines and jail time. Drivers often face the suspension of their license after a DUI conviction.
Additionally, the court can order drivers to attend training programs following a conviction. Some drivers – especially drivers with prior DUIs on their record – may face a court order to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicles.
IIDs serve as a kind of portable BAC testing tool. Drivers generally have to blow into the device before their car starts. The penalties may grow more severe if a driver is accused of causing an accident or a personal injury.
Build a Defense for Cheyenne DUI Charges
Our team can build you a personalized defense if you face DUI charges in Cheyenne. We can argue that:
- You got stopped without reasonable cause
- Your BAC was not elevated at the time of your arrest
- Police officers incorrectly performed BAC testing
These arguments can allow us to work towards the dismissal or reduction of your charges in some situations. Reducing your charges will enable you to resolve your case without going to trial. However, we can also step in to represent you in court and in front of the DMV.
We provide comprehensive legal assistance to all drivers facing DUI and DWI charges.
Start Working with a DUI Lawyer in Cheyenne
Are you facing charges for a DUI? You can start working with a Cheyenne DUI lawyer today. Members of our criminal defense team at Peak Legal Services can discuss all of your legal options to resolve the charges you face. We can begin handling your DMV hearing and criminal hearing when you call us at (307) 274-4750.